They said to Jump In… [Update]

27 02 2008

I know it’s spelled JUMPED. It’s a joke!

Today my local EB Games finally dropped the price of the HD DVD add-on I’ve had on hold for the last two-weeks. $45 CND later and I got myself an HD DVD player!

I’m excited about the possibilities for the future of the platform and am glad I spent my hard earned monies to buy it.

Oh…. what the hell…..

Update: Joking aside, I thought it was a good time to grab the drive. $44.99 for it at my local EB Games with the King Kong freebie still neatly tucked inside. Also, the fact that the 5 Free HD DVDs expires TOMORROW helps!

I ended up dropping $10 of my own cash after trading in a game I don’t play anymore. $10 for an HD DVD player and 6 free movies? Do want. Did buy.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 02 2008
misterobscure

How is it so far? I’m thinking about picking one up even minus the 5 free movies.

That is, if I can find the Evil Dead series on HD-DVD.

29 02 2008
Xav

I like it so far. King Kong, which it came with, looked great before the movie put me to sleep. The PiP commentary stuff is one of the main reasons I picked it up, I think I’m going to grab an HD version of 300 just for that extra feature (and I own the Blu-ray!). Grabbed the Bourne series for a great price and it looks amazing!

Honestly, you aren’t supposed to be able to tell the difference but the HD DVD works on my television better than the Blu-ray player. The PS3 and my TV sometimes have issues because it always wants to revert down to 720p instead of 1080i and even though progressive is teh hawtness my television displays the 1080i picture a lot better.

The Evil Dead series is available from Amazon or eBay, so you’re in luck I think. The price is a little steep, but come May-ish these things are going to drop in price real fast.

Leave a Reply

